This Winter Night

It’s a cold winter night

Thoughts of you my only light

Hours spent trying to make us right

While the cold winds blow

I hear the stars cry tonight

As the moon shines ever so bright

As on the other side of the world

The sun eases to noon

My only thought tonight

Is to be with you soon

Time gone by is meaningless

Like a second in a flash

The present meets the past

And the cold winter damp

Sends chills down my spine

As all I want in life

Is you to be mine

Snowflakes fall

As tears of the heart

To the ground

Just need to see you

When I turn around

So tonight, your high noon

Stop and think of me

As I walk into your room

Let all before begone

I’ve loved you oh so long

Just smile and open your arms

Feel the love I give

Hold onto the sun

That shines when winters done

And catch the snowflakes

As they fall

©2021 Graham K. Egli

All Rights Reserved

Leave a comment